Lens To Choose

As you can see from the ‘About’ column on the upper right of this blog that I am a father of two. I need to balance between my children and photography. They’re both just 2 and 5 years old, so when we go out we pack a lot of things from clothing to diapers, etc even just for a day out. This necessitates me to bring gear as light as possible. For most one-day outing occasion I cannot afford to bring more than one lens to minimize load. Well apart from that, I also avoid changing lenses outdoor. Though not being paranoid for sensor cleanliness, I do not want to risk having dirty sensor too soon. I hate cleaning sensors.

D2X ISO 100, 85mm f1.4 AFD @3.5

Last weekend I went to strawberry fields with my family. Besides the strawberry itself as the main attraction for my children, in the area also available flower plants being displayed for sale. I do not know their names, mind my poor biology, but surely they are beautiful. And sure it’s a great opportunity for flower portrait shots.

I originally want to bring one of the two lenses (that I looooove so much) : the 17-35 f2.8 AFS or the 85 f1.4 AFD. The former with its moderately wide angle capability will have more coverage on the scenery of the fields meanwhile still be able to take decent portrait of my beloved daughters with the other end of the zoom.

Meanwhile the 85mm will have main usage taking my daughter picture while she picks the strawberry from its plant. This lens finally won my judgment and attached to the D2X.

I regret that I forgot to count the other candidate to consideration: the Tamron 90 f2.8 Di. It should be perfect for flower portraits, as the subjects available in abundance. Luckily I also had the opportunity to visit local traditional market where light was dim and the 85mm f1.4 AFD shines with its wide aperture.

PS: Unless mentioned otherwise, the above images were taken with D2X at ISO 400, 85mm f1.4 AFD @1.4

2 Responses to Lens To Choose

  1. micki says:

    Bambang, Very nice blog ~ I had a blogger that I used for blogging and then moved to myspace but now I see that I should use the blogger for my pictures to share for my family (I do show them a bit other places)and talk a liitle bit about it as you did! Thank you for sharing this. I enjoyed it tremendously. I love these BANANA’S! ~ ENJOY! ~ micki from PN

  2. Great information. Thanks for sharing this to us. I actually have no problems with changing lens. What’s giving me some headache is the price of a particular lens. Also, I hate cleaning sensors. I’m not that fuzzy that’s why I don’t really care if I have dirty sensors.

Leave a Reply

