Nikon D2X

This is my first digital camera. Ever. I never bought a digital camera before. Not even the compact type or any other kind. This is my first digital camera. Happenned to be the Nikon top of the line digital SLR. Cellphone doesn’t count.

I bought this in mid 2005 when I needed to produce some product shot. Frankly I can do the job with my F80 or FM2n. But the the task only gave me very little time and I just can’t imagine the preparation that has to be done again if I blew the first shooting session since to be honest I am not too familiar with product shot. I need something that can give me instant feedback on result.

In 2005 the choice from Nikon on DSLR was the D70s, D100, D2hs and D2x. I don’t remember if the D50 has been introduced at that time.

I am not keen with D70s nor the D100. The D70s was only a minor adjustment of the D70, and the D100 is way to old. D2hs is tempting in terms of technology, but the 4MP really turn me off. The Canon 20D is very tempting, but my lenses are Nikkors. So I stuck with D2x.

This body is really a professional image making tool. You know what, I used to say that my Nikon F80 is a clever camera. It can meter, focus and do everything for you that all you need to do is press the shutter release button. Consequently, you do not need a knowledgeable person about taking picture to use this camera. On the other side of the spectrum, my Nikon FM2n is an idiot camera. It requires you to know about how to take technically acceptable picture to use one.

Though you can say that D2x is way more sophisticated and advance technologically than the F80, it is definetely a camera for somebody who knows how to make pictures. If you think that D2x is an automatic camera you can expect to get a beautiful picture out of the box, you better buy an F80. And shoot prints to let the guy at the local lab make the correction for you.

I love the ergonomic. I hate the weight. I love the autofocus. I hate the size. I love the battery. I hate the weight. I love the customization function. I hate the size. I love the viewfinder. I hate the weight. I love the function button. I hate the size. I love the resolution. I hate the weight. I love the instant power on. I hate the size.

By now you probably have a good idea that I love the camera as much I hate it.

I’d love to have a DSLR as small as D40 but has the things I love about D2x built in into it. Wishful thinking indeed.

PS: The image above was made using Nikon D2X with Tamron 90 f2.8 Macro lens

2 Responses to Nikon D2X

  1. Pingback: Nikon D3X « Loose Lens

  2. Pingback: Nikon D3X « Loose Lens

Leave a Reply

