Tamron 70-300mm f4-5.6 LD Macro 1:2

 

This is the lens that everybody says it has the same element design with the Nikkor counterpart. The Nikkor version has one ED element so is this one. The diagram of the lens element is identical. With the price of less than half of the Nikkor, I was convinced that this one is for me.

It is speculative to say that the Nikkor version is subcontracted to Tamron. I do not know. It is possible, I guess. Only people from both companies know this for sure whether that is true.

Back to the lens, this lens never lets me down. The above picture was taken with this lens. I used Provia 100F for that picture. Apart for the issue that this lens has small max aperture of 4 to 5.6 when the zoom is set to 300 mm, I always think that this lens is adequate for my usage.

I covered several weddings with this lens and I cannot complaint. Combined with my Metz 70MZ5 I can set the aperture to 8 or 11 to produce reasonably sharp images.

I can’t complain on the bokeh department, either. Though bokeh can be seen good or bad depending on anybody’s taste, to my opinion this lens can produce pleasing bokeh as you can see in the above picture. It can do a semi macro, too !

In my FM2N this lens is a pain in the neck. The small aperture makes it quite difficult to focus using my standard split image focusing screen of the FM2N.

PS: The above image was made using Nikon F80 with Tamron 70-300 f4-5.6 LD. Film was Provia 100F.

PS2: I never put this lens on my D2X. I don’t know why but I feel that I do not have confident to put it on. And since my F80 are sitting in a shelf for the last one year, this lens is now collecting dust, too.

 

Leave a Reply

