Nikon F80

This is a small wonder from Nikon. Little brother of F100.

To be honest if I can choose between this and F100, I would definetely opt for the F100. They are more robust and solid. But I was not ready to pay three times the price of F80 for a F100. And I don’t think I will need the F100 built quality.

F80 is nicely fit to my needs and my budget.

There are only two drawback for this camera :

The body is too short I don’t feel very comfortable handling it. But it can be solved with the battery grip. Although there is no vertical release on that accessory, the battery grip really helps the handling feel.

This body electronic cannot accept manual focus Nikkor, except they are chipped. I can’t use my Nikkor 28 2.8 AIS with this camera. It won’t meter.

In the past when I did my wedding photography this is my primary camera. Attached in front of this body is either the Tamron 70-300 f4-5.6 or Nikkor 50 f1.4 AFD or Nikkor AFS 24-85mm f3.5-4.5. On the side is attached the flash Metz 70 MZ5. The killer flash.

Love this body.

PS: The above image was made using Nikon F80 with Nikkor 50mm f1.4 AF-D. Film was Provia 100F.

Leave a Reply

