Nikkor 50mm f1.4 AFD

This is my first lens that I bought together with my first Nikon SLR FM2n. I love this lens. It’s fast. I don’t worry much if it is sharp. If my picture is not sharp, most probably it is not because of my lens. It’s my technique. It’s my ability. I have a flimsy tripod, but 99% of my photography is made without one. Handheld.

So with large aperture I can – to a degree – avoid the blurred. But the trade off is the very thin depth of field. If I photograph my daugther with this lens and I want it tight, her eyes are usually sharp but her ears are not.

Later on I use this wonderful lens less and less when I acquire the Nikkor 28mm f2.8 AIS for my FM2n. Especially outdoors.

But from time to time I still use this lens for fun. It’s a great indoor lens due to it’s large aperture, but at the same time I feel that for indoor it is not wide enough. You know, when you came from a country where houses are huge, it won’t be a problem. I come from a community where space is limited. Big houses are consequently very expensive.

I need to get a 28 f1.4, but again if I can afford that lens I won’t be stuck in a small house.

PS: The above picture was made using FM2N with Nikkor 50mm f1.4 + flash.

Leave a Reply

